God’s Will is not Your Discontentment

SONY DSC
Do you have a big, life changing decision to make? Are you praying that God will show you His will? If you answered ‘Yes,’ I’d like to throw a few wrenches in your faith system.

Pursue God’s Passion

Ladies, on your anniversary, would you want your husband or boyfriend to ask you if you’d like Him to buy you that gift you’ve been hinting at? Or would you want him to love you so much that he would just know your will?

In the same way, God wants us to love Him so much that we don’t always have to ask Him what His will is. That doesn’t mean don’t pray. Certainly, just as you should talk to your spouse before making big decisions, you should talk to God. But it means you’re talking to Him everyday. And the more you talk with Him the more your will aligns itself with His will.

Sometimes, that won’t be easy. It might mean handing that $10,000 check to your church that you were going to use for a down payment on a house, moving to a new city to plant or help plant a church, or forgiving your spouse for their unfaithfulness and working with them to restore your marriage. Whatever it means, know that God’s will for you is always that He be glorified.

Ps. 37:4:

“Delight yourself also in the Lord, and He shall give you the desires of your heart.”

If you are delighting yourself in the Lord, the Lord’s will is that you continue to delight yourself in Him. If you delight yourself in Him, He will give you the desires of your heart because the desires of your heart will be to continue to delight in Him and Glorify Him.

Pursue Your Purpose

More than 20 years ago, I heard God calling me to become a pastor. Seven years later, I went on to study for my degree in Pastoral Ministries.

In the middle of my Junior year, I became discontent. I began to question if I had heard the voice of God correctly. I began to pray that God would show me if His will was for me to continue my pursuit of a Pastoral Ministries degree.

Earlier in the semester, I found a spot in a large city park that was kind of off the beaten path, where I went to pray. One day, I laid two large branches perpendicular to each other and left them there. I decided if the winds blew the branch that lay east to west toward the north, God wanted me to stay. If the branch moved to the south, God wanted me to leave.

After a few days, I returned to ‘My Tent’ and saw the two branches unmoved. God said, “I will bless you wherever you go.” I decided not to continue down the road of discontentment.

That night, I called my parents and had one of the most difficult conversations any son could ever have with his parents. I went on to pursue my degree in Literature, and now I am pursuing my call into the ministry through writing.

When God gives us a passion, He expects us to pursue that passion.

Heb. 11, 12 – Two great chapters on pursuing your passion.

Your Pain is not Your Purpose

Sometimes, God allows us to get into situations we can’t change, or we have little power to change. That does not mean God wants us to remain in those situations, or in those situations as they are. It means we need to rely on Him to get us out of that situations, change the dynamics of those situations, or change our attitude within that situation.

If you were an athlete and sprained your ankle, would you think, ‘Maybe it’s God’s will that I live with this pain,’ or would you go to the hospital? We sometimes experience pain because of our wrong choices or other’s wrong choices, but God’s will is not for us to continue to live in pain.

Though, in your pain, God wants you to become so intimately acquainted with Him that you find contentment in Him. The more content you become, the more He will show you the way out of that situation, how you can change the dynamics of that situation, or how you can change your perspective toward that situation.

Phil 4:12

“I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.”

Paul was in prison when he said that. He developed such an intimate relationship with God that he rejoiced in his incapacitation, and He trusted God to get him out of that situation in His time. Paul found contentment in that situation, but he knew God’s purpose was not for him to remain in that situation.

I once heard someone say, “God’s will for your tomorrow is that you live for Him today.” Do you want to know God’s will for you? It’s that you live for Him today. It’s that you glorify Him with your finances, your job, your marriage, and everything else.

Leave a Reply

